TheSebby.com Sebby's Webby!

16Dec/080

Domain Scams

Has anyone ever seen a domain scam? I've only just realised that it's happened twice to me, but i inadvertently bought it via another domain registrar, someone that sells domains online.

Recently, another company has approached my family's website and sent the following email:

Dear Manager,

We received a formal application from a person who is called John Alldis is applying to register "mydomain" as their domain names and Internet brand in Hong Kong and also in Asia on 2008-11-21 During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged John Alldis has no trade mark, brand nor patent even similar to that word. As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect the alleged John Alldis to be a domain or trademark grabber. Hence we need you confirmation for two things, First of all, whether this alleged John Alldis is your business partner or distributor in Asia.

Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains and internet brand instead of that alleged person.(The alleged John Alldis will be entitled to obtain a domain not needed by original trademark owner.)

If you are not in charge of this please forward this email to appropriate dept.

In addition, I must state that we have time limited for one person or one company¡¯s registration. It is just 15 days. If your company files doesn't resent within the time limited. We will unconditionally authorized the application of John Alldis. Thank you for your cooperate.

Best Regards,

shayne sue
Sponsoring Registrar:

Asia Network

Tel:  +852 3118 1808  +852 3065 8284

Fax: +852 3065 8189

Email: shayne@asianetwork.mobi

Website: www.asianetwork.mobi
And of course, we responded:

Hi Shayne,

I'm the Webmaster for MyDomain. We do not know any John Alldis and we are the only distributors in Asia.

Just so we're clear, what domain is Mr Alldis attempting to purchase? I'm already currently in possession of mydomain.com. Please advise.

Best regards,

Sebastian Cheok

And then their response:

Dear Sebastian,

Thanks for your prompt reply,Now I confirm that John Alldis doesn't belong to your company.According to our investigation,We knew you have own the intellectual property / own the trademark "amazingglaze". But now John Alldis wanted to apply the following domain names and internet brand you have not registered yet.

1. Domain Names

[list of domains]

2. Internet Brand

mydomain

You must know Domain name takes open registration, this is international domain name registration rule. So John Alldis has right to register them. As a domain name registrar, we have no right to dispute their application. So inform your company to protect your interest. If you don't think their application will affect your company, you can give up, we will finish their registration. But if you think these domain names are useful for your company, we can send an application form to you and help you register these within dispute period. This is the only way to prevent domain name grab. Pls let us know your decision soon, so that we can handle the next step.

Warm Regards,

Shayne

And so it springs back and forth, with them sending me correspondences, etc, asking me to fill in forms and preparing payments to the company.

But soon after, I realised that this would most likely be a scam. After all, in this day and age, why can't I just buy a domain online? And how will I maintain my own domain?

Once I asked these questions, silence came.

Beware these scams!

Share/Save/Bookmark

Filed under: Personal No Comments
5Dec/080

Tips: Hurt or Help?

Check this article out from 43 folders by Merlin Mann. Click here.

I realised that I'm an information junkie. I keep on consuming information, without actually utilizing them on a larger scale. I've got tons of management books, with no one to manage but myself. Also plenty of sales books that I've read but not used their advice.

Now that I am actually fully aware of where my problems lie, how should I improve?

This is starting to feel like a whiny site, I know. But rest assured, it's just a phase I'm going through. Part of growing up I guess.

Share/Save/Bookmark

Filed under: Personal No Comments